The Lakes of The Lake District

With over 9000km of watercourses in the national park there is certainly no shortage of fresh water in this part of the world. However, contrary to its name, the Lake District actually has only one area of water called a lake which is Bassenthwaite Lake. However it does have plenty of meres and waters.

The Lakes

The 18 ‘lakes’ of the Lake District are officially recognised to be:

  1. Bassenthwaite Lake
  2. Brothers Water
  3. Buttermere
  4. Coniston Water
  5. Crummock Water
  6. Derwent Water
  7. Ennerdale Water
  8. Elter Water
  9. Esthwaite Water
  10. Grasmere
  11. Haweswater
  12. Loweswater
  13. Rydal Water
  14. Thirlmere
  15. Ullswater
  16. Wast Water
  17. Wet Sleddale
  18. Windermere


In The Depths

The deepest lake in the Lake District, and also in England, is Wastwater, which reaches a depth of 258 feet or 79 metres. The deepest tarn is Blea Water near Haweswater, which reaches 223 feet or 68 metres down, while the largest tarn is Devoke Water, which runs 0.8 miles or 1.2km from its easternmost point to its westernmost.

View from Cat Bells towards Keswick